#hamburgisboarding

From the beginning — and now.

What makes Hamburg what it is? This has always been a place for setting off on journeys. With groundbreaking projects and activities, Hamburg is investing in the future of this aviation powerhouse.

Problems watching the film? Alternatively, you can watch the video on YouTube

Pioneering projects and activities

Research

Hamburg Aviation Green

The aviation industry, and with it Hamburg as a global aviation centre, faces the greatest challenge of its history: to pursue the path to becoming a low emissions industry. The Green Aviation Technological Roadmap, produced in collaboration with the industry’s actors in Hamburg, indicates areas in which Hamburg can position itself over the long term, making its own contribution. In addition to the Green Aviation Roadmap, the Hamburg Aviation Green initiative encompasses every aspect of the low emissions future of aviation. It is also closely associated with the Hamburg stimulus package in task force areas such as hydrogen and with European support initiatives such as Clean Aviation.

Find out more
 - cc-by ZAL_DReinhardt
Foto: © ZAL_DReinhardt
Projects

Medifly – Medical Transport by Drone

Within the Medifly project, a Hamburg-based business, research and administration team is addressing the question of how uncrewed aircraft can be deployed to transport medical items, in close cooperation with the responsible authorities, airspace users, and the people of Hamburg. After successful test flights over Hamburg in February 2020, Medifly is now in the starting blocks, ready to fly new routes within Hamburg as the basis for future regular operations. Project partners are the Ministry for Economic Affairs and Innovation, FlyNex, GLVI Gesellschaft fuer Luftverkehrsinformatik, Hamburg Aviation, the Hamburg Logistics Initiative, Lufthansa Technik, and the ZAL Center for Applied Aeronautical Research, Associated partners include the Asklepios hospitals, the Federal Armed Forces Hospital, German Air Traffic Services, Intermed, Schoen Clinic Hamburg, and the University Hospital Eppendorf.

Find out more
 - cc-by PSP Ingenieure
Foto: © PSP Ingenieure
Research

Expansion of the ZAL Center for Applied Aeronautical Research

ZAL’s task as a leading research facility for civilian aviation is to already identify and explore today the future needs of our research partners. For this reason, the ZAL TechCenter is being extended. The spaces being created now have been designed to function according to modern “new work concepts”. An Innovation Accelerator will be another new feature. This offers methodical project support in the form, for example, of technological early recognition or agile coaching. The service is complemented by technological support such as feasibility studies and prototype development.

Find out more
 - cc-by Daniel Reinhardt
Foto: © Daniel Reinhardt
Projects

Sustainable Aero Lab

The Sustainable Aero Lab is an innovative, internationally oriented mentoring programme for startups in the field of aeronautical technologies. It has set as its mission to become the most visible address worldwide for knowledge transfer and open innovation in the field of sustainable aviation. The lab draws together people from diverse backgrounds with a shared vision — the dream of making emission-free aviation a reality. The Sustainable Aero Lab is supported by the Hamburg Investitions und Foerderbank (IFB) and is a subsidiary of Hamburg investment corporation Density Ventures. As associated partners, Hamburg Aviation and ZAL are substantial stakeholders in the concept.

Find out more
 - cc-by Bloom Realities
Foto: © Bloom Realities
Research

REALISE – THE MOBILE RUNWAY SYSTEM

REALISE (Runway-Independent Automatic Launch and Landing System) is a strategic research project in the Hamburg Aviation cluster, focused on small to medium-sized enterprises, representing the next step in the development of the GroLaS system for ground-based landing gear. The aim of the REALISE project is to trial a mobile, runway-independent, automated ground-based landing gear for uncrewed aircraft on a market-relevant scale.

Problems loading the video? View at https://realise.aero.

Find out more
 - cc-by ZAL
Foto: © ZAL
Network

Task Force Aviation — Hamburg stimulus package

The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg is offering a total of 25 million euros of support for research and innovation in the city’s aviation industry between now and 2022. Topics and projects are bundled in the Task Force Aviation, coordinated by Hamburg Aviation. In various topical working groups, well-defined projects are being developed and implemented to enable Hamburg’s aviation industry to respond to the economic consequences of the coronavirus pandemic and at the same time to equip itself for the concerns of the future. The working groups are made up of Hamburg Aviation members from industry, research and education. There are working groups for hydrogen, urban air mobility, qualification, aircraft cabins, and digitalisation of the supply chain.

 - cc-by Jan Brandes
Foto: © Jan Brandes
Network

Urban Air Mobility Network Windrove

The Windrove Network supports the commercial use of drones as the basis of an air transit system in metropolitan regions and the development of a drone-based aviation system at a higher level. Since 2017, in various structures and projects, the network has been bringing together users, designers, and suppliers of drone-based services and products. On the basis of open, solution-oriented networking, the aim is to safely and fairly deploy and further develop commercial UAV applications in urban regions. (UAV = uncrewed aerial vehicle)

Find out more

#hamburgisboarding

Von Anfang an und so auch jetzt.

Was zeichnet Hamburg aus? Hier haben sich die Menschen schon immer auf den Weg gemacht. Mit wegweisenden Projekten und Aktivitäten investiert Hamburg in die Zukunft des Luftfahrtstandorts.

Ladeschwierigkeiten? Video auf YouTube anschauen.

Wegweisende Projekte und Aktivitäten

Forschung

Hamburg Aviation Green

Die Luftfahrtindustrie und mit ihr der Standort Hamburg stehen vor der größten Herausforderung ihrer Geschichte: den Weg in eine emissionsarme Branche zu bestreiten. Die gemeinsam mit den Akteuren am Standort erarbeitete Green Aviation Technological Roadmap zeigt Themen auf, mit denen Hamburg sich hierbei langfristig positionieren und einen eigenen Beitrag leisten kann. Die Initiative Hamburg Aviation Green beinhaltet neben der Green Aviation Roadmap sämtliche Themen rund um die emissionsarme Zukunft der Luftfahrt und ist zudem eng verbunden mit dem Hamburger Konjunkturprogramm in Task-Force-Bereichen wie Wasserstoff und mit europäischen Förderinitiativen wie Clean Aviation.

mehr erfahren
 - cc-by ZAL_DReinhardt
Foto: © ZAL_DReinhardt
Projekte

Medifly – Medinizinische Transporte per Drohne

Im Rahmen des Projekts Medifly beschäftigt sich ein Hamburger Team aus Wirtschaft, Forschung und Verwaltung mit der Fragestellung, wie unbemannte Luftfahrzeuge für den Transport medizinischer Güter eingesetzt werden können, in enger Abstimmung mit den zuständigen Behörden, Luftraumnutzern und den Hamburger Bürgern. Nach erfolgreichen Testflügen über Hamburg im Februar 2020 steht Medifly in den Startlöchern für die Befliegung neuer Strecken im Hamburger Stadtgebiet als Grundlage für einen zukünftigen Regelbetrieb. Die Projektpartner sind die Behörde für Wirtschaft und Innovation, FlyNex, die GLVI Gesellschaft für Luftverkehrsinformatik, Hamburg Aviation, die Logistik-Initiative Hamburg, Lufthansa Technik und das ZAL Zentrum für Angewandte Luftfahrtforschung. Zu den assoziierten Partnern gehören die Asklepios Kliniken, das Bundeswehrkrankenhaus, die DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung, Intermed, die Schön Klinik Eilbek sowie das Universitätsklinikum-Eppendorf.

mehr erfahren
 - cc-by Adobe Stock
Foto: © Adobe Stock
Karriere

Qualifizierungsprogramm QBlue

QBlue ist ein innovatives Qualifizierungskonzept, das 2021 startet. In dem Projekt werden berufliche Weiterbildungsangebote für Facharbeiter (all genders) in den kleinen und mittleren Luftfahrtunternehmen der Metropolregion entwickelt und mittels moderner IT-Verfahren auf deren Bedarfe und Arbeitsrealitäten ausgerichtet.

mehr erfahren
 - cc-by PSP Ingenieure
Foto: © PSP Ingenieure
Forschung

Erweiterung des ZAL Zentrum für Angewandte Luftfahrtforschung

Als führendes Forschungszentrum für zivile Luftfahrt ist es Aufgabe des ZAL, schon heute an die zukünftigen Bedürfnisse unserer Forschungspartner zu denken. Aus diesem Grund wird das ZAL TechCenter erweitert. Die neu entstehenden Flächen werden so gestaltet, dass sie nach modernen New Work-Arbeitskonzepten genutzt werden können. Eine weitere Neuheit wird zudem das Angebot eines Innovation Accelerators sein. Dieser bietet methodische Projektbegleitung, bspw. durch technologische Früherkennung oder agiles Coaching. Ergänzt wird der Service durch technologische Unterstützung wie Machbarkeitsstudien oder Prototypenbau.

mehr erfahren
 - cc-by Daniel Reinhardt
Foto: © Daniel Reinhardt
Projekte

Sustainable Aero Lab

Das Sustainable Aero Lab ist ein innovatives international ausgerichtetes Mentorenprogramm für Startups im Bereich Luftfahrttechnologien mit der Mission, die weltweit sichtbarste Adresse für Wissenstransfer und Open Innovation im Bereich nachhaltiger Luftfahrt zu werden. Das Lab führt Menschen unterschiedlicher Herkunft unter einer gemeinsamen sichtbaren Vision zusammen: den Traum einer emissionsfreien Luftfahrt Realität werden zu lassen. Das Sustainable Aero Lab wird durch die Hamburger Investitions- und Förderbank (IFB) gefördert und eine Tochter der Hamburger Investitionsgesellschaft Density Ventures. Hamburg Aviation und ZAL sind als assoziierte Partner wesentliche Stakeholder des Konzepts.

mehr erfahren
 - cc-by Bloom Realities
Foto: © Bloom Realities
Forschung

REALISE – THE MOBILE RUNWAY SYSTEM

REALISE (Runway independent automatic launch and landing system) ist ein mittelstandszentriertes, strategisches Forschungsvorhaben im Luftfahrtcluster Hamburg Aviation, das den nächsten Entwicklungsschritt für das bodengebundene Start- und Landesystem GroLaS (Ground-based Landing Gear System) markiert. Ziel des REALISE-Projekts ist die Erprobung eines mobilen, landebahnunabhängigen und automatischen Bodenfahrwerkes für unbemannte Luftfahrzeuge in marktrelevanter Größenordnung.

Ladeschwierigkeiten? Video auf https://realise.aero anschauen.

mehr erfahren
 - cc-by ZAL
Foto: © ZAL
Netzwerke

Task Force Luftfahrt – Hamburger Konjunkturprogramm

Die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg fördert Forschungs- und Innovationsthemen am Luftfahrtstandort bis 2022 mit insgesamt 25 Millionen Euro. Die Themen und Projekte werden in der von Hamburg Aviation koordinierten Task Force Luftfahrt gebündelt. In verschiedenen thematischen Arbeitsgruppen werden konkrete Projekte entwickelt und umgesetzt, mit denen der Luftfahrtstandort Hamburg auf die wirtschaftlichen Folgen der Corona-Pandemie reagieren und sich gleichzeitig für Zukunftsthemen rüsten kann. Die Teilnehmer der Arbeitsgruppen setzen sich aus Mitgliedern von Hamburg Aviation aus Industrie, Forschung und Bildung zusammen. Arbeitsgruppen gibt es zu den Bereichen Wasserstoff, Urban Air Mobility, Qualifizierung, Flugzeugkabine und Digitalisierung in der Supply Chain.

 - cc-by Jan Brandes
Foto: © Jan Brandes
Netzwerke

Urban Air Mobility Netzwerk Windrove

Das Netzwerk Windrove fördert – und dafür steht das Akronym – die wirtschaftliche Nutzung von Drohnen in Metropolregionen, bzw. eines drohnenbasierten Luftverkehrssystems, auf übergeordneter Ebene. Dazu bringt das Netzwerk seit 2017 in verschiedenen Formaten und Projekten Nutzer, Gestalter und Anbieter von Drohnen-basierten Services und Produkten zusammen. Durch einen offenen und lösungsorientierten Austausch sollen kommerzielle UAV-Anwendungen in urbanen Regionen sicher und fair eingesetzt und weiterentwickelt werden. (UAV = unmanned aerial vehicle)

mehr erfahren