Metropolregion Hamburg

Hamburg Aviation Young Talent Prize

The "Hamburg Aviation Young Talent Prize" was established by Hamburg Aviation to foster talented young people with innovative ideas in northern Germany’s aviation industry. This plays a long-term role in maintaining the competitiveness of the Hamburg Metropolitan Region as a centre of aviation and keeping well-qualified academics here.

This goal is served by the Department of Economic Affairs, Transportation and Innovation (BWVI) with its programs to secure specialist personnel, by the Hamburg Centre of Aviation Training (HCAT) as an innovative inter-campus cooperative project of vocational colleges, universities and companies, and by appropriate campaigns conducted by the cluster in collaboration with the universities and Hamburg’s aviation industry. Participants can look forward to the very best networking opportunities within the aviation cluster as they come into direct contact with member companies. Hamburg Aviation thus supports young professionals as they make the move from academic training to career.

The emphasis is on the aviation cluster’s five product areas: "aircraft and aircraft systems", "cabins and cabin systems", "aviation services", "air transport systems" and "aviation-related IT and communication systems". Entry is also open for all aviation-related subjects,  in particular cross-sectional topics such as measuring and controlling technology, IT, restructuring the supply chain, coherent solutions for integrating suppliers, and innovation management within aviation clusters.

Since 2017, winners are being sought in two categories:

  • Best Bachelor thesis.
  • Best Master thesis.

The winner in each category receives 1500 euros. 

2017' jury: Prof. Dr. Jutta Abulawi (HAW Hamburg), Roland Bähr (Airbus Operations), Jan Binnebesel (mb+Partner), Dr. Christoph de Beer (Lufthansa Technik), Prof. Dr. Volker Gollnick (DLR), Dr. Hannes Mechler (P3 Engineering), Johannes Scharnberg (Hamburg Airport), Prof. Dr. Frank Thielecke (TU Hamburg)  und Prof. Dr. Jens Wulfsberg (Helmut-Schmidt-Universität).

The Hamburg Aviation Young Talent Prize is supported by: